Skip to content
Loading your account…

MCD MCDONALDS CORP

NYSEConsumer discretionaryRetail-Eating PlacesChicago, ILFY ends December 31

Profitable 5/5: Fiscal years with net income above zero, out of the last five reported.FY2025 10-K filed Feb 24, 2026 (SEC EDGAR)

FY2025 at a glance

Fundamentals from SEC filings, not quotes
Revenue
$26.9BYoYup 3.72%ended Dec 31, 2025
Net income
$8.56B31.9% margin
Diluted EPS
$11.95YoYup 4.92%
Free cash flow
$7.19B26.7% margin
Cash
$774MNet debt $40.7B
Total debt
$41.5B
About MCDONALDS CORP

Overview

MCDONALDS CORP (MCD) is listed on NYSE; the SEC classifies it under "Retail-Eating Places".

For fiscal 2025 (ended Dec 31, 2025) it reported revenue of $26.89B, up 3.7% from fiscal 2024.

Net income was $8.56B, a net margin of 31.9%.

At fiscal year end it had total assets of $59.52B and stockholders' equity of -$1.79B (-3.0% of assets).

Fiscal years shown
FY2016–FY2025 (10 years)
Latest 10-K
Feb 24, 2026
Latest filing
8-KSep 23, 2026
FY2016–FY2025 · annual 10-K

Charts

Revenue and net income

Revenue and net income, fiscal years FY2016 to FY2025.
PeriodRevenueNet incomeNet margin
FY2016$24.6B$4.69B19.0%
FY2017$22.8B$5.19B22.8%
FY2018$21B$5.92B28.2%
FY2019$21.1B$6.03B28.6%
FY2020$19.2B$4.73B24.6%
FY2021$23.2B$7.55B32.5%
FY2022$23.2B$6.18B26.6%
FY2023$25.5B$8.47B33.2%
FY2024$25.9B$8.22B31.7%
FY2025$26.9B$8.56B31.9%

Diluted EPS

Diluted EPS, fiscal years FY2016 to FY2025.
PeriodEPS (diluted)
FY2016$5.44
FY2017$6.37
FY2018$7.54
FY2019$7.88
FY2020$6.31
FY2021$10.04
FY2022$8.33
FY2023$11.56
FY2024$11.39
FY2025$11.95

Free cash flow vs net income

Free cash flow vs net income, fiscal years FY2016 to FY2025.
PeriodFree cash flowNet income
FY2016$4.24B$4.69B
FY2017$3.7B$5.19B
FY2018$4.23B$5.92B
FY2019$5.73B$6.03B
FY2020$4.62B$4.73B
FY2021$7.1B$7.55B
FY2022$5.49B$6.18B
FY2023$7.25B$8.47B
FY2024$6.67B$8.22B
FY2025$7.19B$8.56B

Diluted shares

Diluted shares, fiscal years FY2016 to FY2025.
PeriodDiluted shares (weighted)
FY2016861M
FY2017816M
FY2018786M
FY2019765M
FY2020750M
FY2021752M
FY2022741M
FY2023732
FY2024722
FY2025716

Cash vs total debt

Cash vs total debt, fiscal years FY2016 to FY2025.
PeriodCash & equivalentsTotal debt
FY2016$1.22B$26B
FY2017$2.46B$29.5B
FY2018$866M$31.1B
FY2019$899M$34.2B
FY2020$3.45B$37.4B
FY2021$4.71B$35.6B
FY2022$2.58B$35.9B
FY2023$4.58B$37.5B
FY2024$1.09B$39.2B
FY2025$774M$41.5B

Each bar is one fiscal year as reported in its 10-K; bars below the zero line are negative and gaps are years not reported. Per-share figures are as reported, not adjusted for stock splits; comparisons across a likely split are left blank.

FY2025 · 5-year trend

Ratios

Profitability

Operating margin
46.1%
Net margin
31.9%
FCF margin
26.7%
Return on assets
14.9%

Growth

Growth. Compound annual growth: (end ÷ start)^(1 ÷ years) − 1, both ends positive.
Metric1y3y CAGR5y CAGR9y CAGR
Revenueup 3.72%up 5.06%up 6.96%up 0.98%
EPS (diluted)up 4.92%———
Free cash flowup 7.70%up 9.41%up 9.22%up 6.04%
Change in share count
-0.76%

Financial strength

Current ratio
0.95×
Net debt
$40.7B
Interest coverage
7.83×
Equity / assets
-3.0%

Shareholder returns

Dividends per share
$7.17
Dividends paid
$5.12B
Buybacks
$2.06B
Payout ratio
59.7%
Stock comp. / revenue
0.6%
Piotroski F-Score · Altman Z''-Score

Quality screens

Piotroski F-Score

7 of 8 checks passed

FY2025 vs FY2024

Partial: 8 of 9 checks could be computed.

  • PassPositive return on assets15.5%
  • PassPositive operating cash flow$10.6B
  • PassReturn on assets improved15.5% vs 14.6%
  • PassOperating cash flow above net income19.1% vs 15.5%
  • PassLong-term debt / assets fell67.2% vs 69.6%
  • FailCurrent ratio improved0.95× vs 1.19×
  • PassNo increase in share count716 vs 722
  • —Not computableGross margin improved—
  • PassAsset turnover improved0.49× vs 0.46×

Altman Z''-Score

Needs current assets and liabilities, retained earnings, operating income, total assets, liabilities and equity from the latest 10-K.

Screening heuristic, not a recommendation. Per-share figures are as reported, not adjusted for stock splits; comparisons across a likely split are left blank.

Last 10 fiscal years · newest first

Financial statements

USD millions, except per-share figures (USD). Share counts in millions.

Income statement

Income statement. USD millions, except per-share figures (USD). Share counts in millions.
MetricFY2025Dec 31, 2025FY2024Dec 31, 2024FY2023Dec 31, 2023FY2022Dec 31, 2022FY2021Dec 31, 2021FY2020Dec 31, 2020FY2019Dec 31, 2019FY2018Dec 31, 2018FY2017Dec 31, 2017FY2016Dec 31, 2016
Revenue26,88525,92025,49423,18323,22319,20821,07721,02522,82024,622
YoY (Revenue)+3.72%+1.67%+9.97%-0.17%+20.90%-8.87%+0.24%-7.87%-7.32%—
Selling, general & admin.3,0392,858————2,2292,2002,2312,385
Operating income12,39311,71211,6479,37110,3567,3249,0708,8239,5537,745
Interest expense1,5821,5061,3611,2071,1861,2181,122981921885
Income tax2,3342,1212,0531,6481,5831,4101,9931,8923,3812,180
Net income8,5638,2238,4696,1777,5454,7316,0255,9245,1924,687
YoY (Net income)+4.13%-2.90%+37.09%-18.13%+59.50%-21.49%+1.71%+14.10%+10.79%—
EPS (basic)12.0011.4511.638.3910.116.357.957.616.435.49
EPS (diluted)11.9511.3911.568.3310.046.317.887.546.375.44
YoY (EPS (diluted))+4.92%-1.47%—-17.03%+59.11%-19.92%+4.51%+18.37%+17.10%—
Diluted shares (weighted)000741752750765786816861

Balance sheet

Balance sheet. USD millions, except per-share figures (USD). Share counts in millions.
MetricFY2025Dec 31, 2025FY2024Dec 31, 2024FY2023Dec 31, 2023FY2022Dec 31, 2022FY2021Dec 31, 2021FY2020Dec 31, 2020FY2019Dec 31, 2019FY2018Dec 31, 2018FY2017Dec 31, 2017FY2016Dec 31, 2016
Cash & equivalents7741,0854,5792,5844,7093,4498998662,4641,223
Inventory615652.85255.651.150.251.158.858.9
Current assets4,1634,5997,9865,4247,1496,2433,5584,0535,3274,849
Goodwill3,3543,1453,0402,9002,7832,7732,6772,3322,3802,337
Total assets59,51555,18256,14750,43653,85452,62747,51132,81133,80431,024
Current liabilities4,3613,8616,8593,8024,0206,1813,6212,9742,8913,468
Short-term debt1,523790348—02,24459.1—077.2
Long-term debt39,97338,42437,15335,90435,62335,19734,11831,07529,53625,879
Retained earnings70,28266,83463,48059,54457,53553,90852,93150,48748,32646,223
Stockholders' equity-1,791-3,797-4,707-6,003-4,601-7,825-8,210-6,258-3,268-2,204
Shares outstanding710714722731744746745765794819

Cash flow

Cash flow. USD millions, except per-share figures (USD). Share counts in millions.
MetricFY2025Dec 31, 2025FY2024Dec 31, 2024FY2023Dec 31, 2023FY2022Dec 31, 2022FY2021Dec 31, 2021FY2020Dec 31, 2020FY2019Dec 31, 2019FY2018Dec 31, 2018FY2017Dec 31, 2017FY2016Dec 31, 2016
Operating cash flow10,5519,4479,6127,3879,1426,2658,1226,9675,5516,060
Capital expenditures3,3652,7752,3571,8992,0401,6412,3942,7421,8541,821
Free cash flow7,1866,6727,2555,4887,1024,6245,7284,2253,6984,239
YoY (Free cash flow)+7.70%-8.03%+32.20%-22.73%+53.57%-19.27%+35.58%+14.27%-12.76%—
Depreciation & amortization4574473823703303011,6181,4821,3631,517
Stock-based compensation16517217516713992.4110125118131
Share repurchases2,0562,8243,0543,8968469084,9765,2084,68611,171
Dividends paid5,1154,8704,5334,1683,9193,7533,5823,2563,0893,058
Dividends per share7.176.786.235.665.255.044.734.193.833.61
Key financials (annual, 10-K)

Values as reported in each fiscal year's Form 10-K (XBRL data on SEC EDGAR); growth and ratios are computed from those values. Revenue is the total revenue figure the company tagged (omitted when the only figure tagged is evidently partial, e.g. below net income); growth is only shown between consecutive ~12-month fiscal years reported with the same revenue measure. Per-share figures and share counts are as reported and not adjusted for later stock splits. — = not reported.

FY2025 · per diluted weighted share

Per share and valuation context

EPS (diluted)
$11.95
Revenue per share
$37,527,917.36
FCF per share
$10,030,709.10
Book value per share
-$2,500,000.00
Tangible book per share
-$7,181,742.04
Cash per share
$1,080,402.01
Dividends per share
$7.17
Public floatas of Jun 30, 2025
$208B

Price ratios need a live quote. This page shows no stock prices. Per-share figures are as reported, not adjusted for stock splits; comparisons across a likely split are left blank.

Price ratio calculator

Type a share price to compute ratios from the latest 10-K figures. Nothing is stored or sent. (FY2025)

Market capPrice × diluted weighted shares
—
P/EPrice ÷ diluted EPS
—
P/BPrice ÷ book value per share
—
P/SPrice ÷ revenue per share
—
P/FCFPrice ÷ FCF per share
—
Dividend yieldDividends per share ÷ price
—
SEC EDGAR

Filing timeline

  1. 8-K
    Current report· Sep 23, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
    • 7.01Regulation FD disclosure
    • 9.01Financial statements and exhibits
  2. 10-Q
    Quarterly report· Jun 30, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
  3. 8-K
    Current report· Aug 3, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
    • 5.02Officer or director changes
    • 7.01Regulation FD disclosure
    • 9.01Financial statements and exhibits
  4. 8-K
    Current report· Aug 4, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
    • 2.02Results of operations
    • 9.01Financial statements and exhibits
  5. 8-K
    Current report· May 20, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
    • 5.07Shareholder vote results
  6. 10-Q
    Quarterly report· Mar 31, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
  7. 8-K
    Current report· May 7, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
    • 2.02Results of operations
    • 9.01Financial statements and exhibits
  8. DEF 14A
    Proxy statement· May 20, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
  9. 8-K/A
    Current report (amendment)· Mar 30, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
    • 5.02Officer or director changes
  10. 10-K
    Annual report· Dec 31, 2025(SEC EDGAR)
All filings on SEC EDGAR

Frequently asked questions

What does MCDONALDS CORP do?

The SEC classifies MCDONALDS CORP under Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code 5812, "Retail-Eating Places". It is headquartered in Chicago, IL. It is incorporated in DE. In fiscal 2025 it reported revenue of $26.89B and net income of $8.56B in its annual 10-K report.

What was MCDONALDS CORP's revenue in 2025?

MCDONALDS CORP reported revenue of $26.89B for fiscal 2025, which ended Dec 31, 2025, up 3.7% from $25.92B in fiscal 2024, according to its annual 10-K report filed with the SEC on Feb 24, 2026.

What was MCDONALDS CORP's net income in 2025?

MCDONALDS CORP reported net income of $8.56B for fiscal 2025, a net margin of 31.9% of revenue.

Where is MCDONALDS CORP listed?

According to the SEC, MCDONALDS CORP's ticker MCD is listed on NYSE.

When does MCDONALDS CORP's fiscal year end?

According to the SEC, MCDONALDS CORP's fiscal year ends on December 31; its latest reported fiscal year (2025) ended Dec 31, 2025.

Source: SEC EDGAR · Last updated:

Ver en español

Not investment advice: This page shows financial data that companies reported to the US Securities and Exchange Commission, for information only. It is not investment advice or a recommendation to buy or sell any security, and it shows no stock prices. Data may be incomplete, restated or out of date — check the original filings on SEC EDGAR before making decisions.