COP CONOCOPHILLIPS
NYSEEnergyPetroleum RefiningHouston, TXFY ends December 31
FY2025 at a glance
Fundamentals from SEC filings, not quotes- Revenue
- $58.9BYoYup 7.67%ended Dec 31, 2025
- Net income
- $7.99B13.6% margin
- Diluted EPS
- $6.35YoYdown 18.69%
- Free cash flow
- —
- Cash
- $6.5BNet debt $15.9B
- Total debt
- $22.4BD/E 0.35×
Overview
CONOCOPHILLIPS (COP) is listed on NYSE; the SEC classifies it under "Petroleum Refining".
For fiscal 2025 (ended Dec 31, 2025) it reported revenue of $58.94B, up 7.7% from fiscal 2024.
Net income was $7.99B, a net margin of 13.6%.
At fiscal year end it had total assets of $121.94B and stockholders' equity of $64.49B (52.9% of assets).
- Fiscal years shown
- FY2016–FY2025 (10 years)
- Latest 10-K
- Feb 17, 2026
- Latest filing
- 8-KAug 11, 2026
Charts
Revenue and net income
| Period | Revenue | Net income | Net margin |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2016 | $24.4B | -$3.62B | -14.8% |
| FY2017 | $32.6B | -$855M | -2.6% |
| FY2018 | $38.7B | $6.26B | 16.2% |
| FY2019 | $36.7B | $7.19B | 19.6% |
| FY2020 | $19.3B | -$2.7B | -14.0% |
| FY2021 | $48.3B | $8.08B | 16.7% |
| FY2022 | $78.5B | $18.7B | 23.8% |
| FY2023 | $56.1B | $11B | 19.5% |
| FY2024 | $54.7B | $9.25B | 16.9% |
| FY2025 | $58.9B | $7.99B | 13.6% |
Gross, operating and net margin
| Period | Gross margin | Net margin |
|---|---|---|
| FY2016 | — | -14.8% |
| FY2017 | — | -2.6% |
| FY2018 | 63.1% | 16.2% |
| FY2019 | 67.7% | 19.6% |
| FY2020 | 58.0% | -14.0% |
| FY2021 | 62.4% | 16.7% |
| FY2022 | 56.7% | 23.8% |
| FY2023 | 60.9% | 19.5% |
| FY2024 | 63.4% | 16.9% |
| FY2025 | 62.1% | 13.6% |
Diluted EPS
| Period | EPS (diluted) |
|---|---|
| FY2016 | -$2.91 |
| FY2017 | -$0.70 |
| FY2018 | — |
| FY2019 | — |
| FY2020 | — |
| FY2021 | $6.07 |
| FY2022 | $14.57 |
| FY2023 | $9.06 |
| FY2024 | $7.81 |
| FY2025 | $6.35 |
Diluted shares
| Period | Diluted shares (weighted) |
|---|---|
| FY2016 | 1.25M |
| FY2017 | 1.22M |
| FY2018 | 1.18M |
| FY2019 | 1.12M |
| FY2020 | 1.08M |
| FY2021 | 1.33M |
| FY2022 | 1.28B |
| FY2023 | 1.21B |
| FY2024 | 1.18B |
| FY2025 | 1.25B |
Cash vs total debt
| Period | Cash & equivalents | Total debt |
|---|---|---|
| FY2016 | $3.61B | $26.2B |
| FY2017 | $6.33B | $17.1B |
| FY2018 | $5.92B | $14.9B |
| FY2019 | $5.09B | $14.8B |
| FY2020 | $2.99B | $14.8B |
| FY2021 | $5.03B | $18.7B |
| FY2022 | $6.46B | $16.2B |
| FY2023 | $5.64B | $17.9B |
| FY2024 | $5.61B | $23.3B |
| FY2025 | $6.5B | $22.4B |
Each bar is one fiscal year as reported in its 10-K; bars below the zero line are negative and gaps are years not reported. Per-share figures are as reported, not adjusted for stock splits; comparisons across a likely split are left blank.
Ratios
Profitability
- Gross margin
- 62.1%
- Net margin
- 13.6%
- Return on equity
- 12.4%
- Return on assets
- 6.5%
Growth
| Metric | 1y | 3y CAGR | 5y CAGR | 9y CAGR |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | up 7.67% | down 9.11% | up 25.08% | up 10.32% |
| EPS (diluted) | down 18.69% | down 24.18% | — | — |
| Free cash flow | — | — | — | — |
- Change in share count
- +6.15%
Financial strength
- Current ratio
- 1.3×
- Debt / equity
- 0.35×
- Liabilities / assets
- 47.1%
- Net debt
- $15.9B
- Equity / assets
- 52.9%
Shareholder returns
- Dividends per share
- $3.18
- Dividends paid
- $4B
- Buybacks
- $5.02B
- Payout ratio
- 50.0%
- Stock comp. / revenue
- 0.6%
Quality screens
Piotroski F-Score
5 of 9 checks passed
FY2025 vs FY2024
- PassPositive return on assets6.5%
- PassPositive operating cash flow$19.8B
- FailReturn on assets improved6.5% vs 9.6%
- PassOperating cash flow above net income16.1% vs 6.5%
- PassLong-term debt / assets fell18.4% vs 19.0%
- PassCurrent ratio improved1.3× vs 1.29×
- FailNo increase in share count1.25B vs 1.18B
- FailGross margin improved62.1% vs 63.4%
- FailAsset turnover improved0.48× vs 0.57×
Altman Z''-Score
Needs current assets and liabilities, retained earnings, operating income, total assets, liabilities and equity from the latest 10-K.
Screening heuristic, not a recommendation. Per-share figures are as reported, not adjusted for stock splits; comparisons across a likely split are left blank.
Financial statements
USD millions, except per-share figures (USD). Share counts in millions.
Income statement
| Metric | FY2025Dec 31, 2025 | FY2024Dec 31, 2024 | FY2023Dec 31, 2023 | FY2022Dec 31, 2022 | FY2021Dec 31, 2021 | FY2020Dec 31, 2020 | FY2019Dec 31, 2019 | FY2018Dec 31, 2018 | FY2017Dec 31, 2017 | FY2016Dec 31, 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | 58,944 | 54,745 | 56,141 | 78,494 | 48,349 | 19,256 | 36,670 | 38,727 | 32,584 | 24,360 |
| YoY (Revenue) | +7.67% | -2.49% | -28.48% | +62.35% | +151.09% | -47.49% | -5.31% | +18.85% | +33.76% | — |
| Gross profit | 36,619 | 34,733 | 34,166 | 44,523 | 30,191 | 11,178 | 24,828 | 24,433 | — | — |
| Research & development | 78 | 81 | 81 | 71 | 62 | 75 | 82 | 78 | 100 | 116 |
| Selling, general & admin. | 893 | 1,158 | 705 | 623 | 719 | 430 | 556 | 401 | 561 | 723 |
| Interest expense | 1,176 | 941 | 824 | 791 | 887 | 788 | 799 | 838 | 1,114 | 1,279 |
| Pretax income | 12,656 | 13,672 | 16,288 | 28,228 | 12,712 | -3,140 | 9,524 | 9,973 | -2,615 | — |
| Income tax | 4,668 | 4,427 | 5,331 | 9,548 | 4,633 | -485 | 2,267 | 3,668 | -1,822 | -1,971 |
| Net income | 7,988 | 9,245 | 10,957 | 18,680 | 8,079 | -2,701 | 7,189 | 6,257 | -855 | -3,615 |
| YoY (Net income) | -13.60% | -15.62% | -41.34% | +131.22% | — | -137.57% | +14.90% | — | — | — |
| EPS (basic) | 6.36 | 7.82 | 9.08 | 14.62 | 6.09 | -2.51 | 6.43 | 5.36 | -0.70 | -2.91 |
| EPS (diluted) | 6.35 | 7.81 | 9.06 | 14.57 | 6.07 | — | — | — | -0.70 | -2.91 |
| YoY (EPS (diluted)) | -18.69% | -13.80% | -37.82% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Diluted shares (weighted) | 1,253 | 1,181 | 1,206 | 1,278 | 1.33 | 1.08 | 1.12 | 1.18 | 1.22 | 1.25 |
Balance sheet
| Metric | FY2025Dec 31, 2025 | FY2024Dec 31, 2024 | FY2023Dec 31, 2023 | FY2022Dec 31, 2022 | FY2021Dec 31, 2021 | FY2020Dec 31, 2020 | FY2019Dec 31, 2019 | FY2018Dec 31, 2018 | FY2017Dec 31, 2017 | FY2016Dec 31, 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cash & equivalents | 6,497 | 5,607 | 5,635 | 6,458 | 5,028 | 2,991 | 5,088 | 5,915 | 6,325 | 3,610 |
| Inventory | 1,873 | 1,809 | 1,398 | 1,219 | 1,208 | 1,002 | 1,026 | 1,007 | 1,060 | 1,018 |
| Current assets | 15,532 | 15,647 | 14,330 | 18,749 | 16,050 | 12,066 | 16,913 | 13,274 | 16,512 | 8,609 |
| Total assets | 121,939 | 122,780 | 95,924 | 93,829 | 90,661 | 62,618 | 70,514 | 69,980 | 73,362 | 89,772 |
| Current liabilities | 11,972 | 12,124 | 10,005 | 12,847 | 12,021 | 5,366 | 7,043 | 7,395 | 9,397 | 6,909 |
| Long-term debt | 22,424 | 23,289 | 17,863 | 16,226 | 18,734 | 14,750 | 14,790 | 14,856 | 17,128 | 26,186 |
| Total liabilities | 57,452 | 57,984 | 46,645 | 45,826 | 45,255 | 32,769 | 35,464 | 37,916 | 42,561 | 54,546 |
| Retained earnings | 68,864 | 64,869 | 59,268 | 53,029 | 40,674 | 35,213 | 39,742 | 34,010 | 29,391 | 31,548 |
| Stockholders' equity | 64,487 | 64,796 | 49,279 | 48,003 | 45,406 | 29,849 | 34,981 | 31,939 | 30,607 | 34,974 |
| Shares outstanding | 1,222 | 1,272 | 1,176 | 1,219 | 1,300 | 1,355 | 1,081 | 1,134 | 1,175 | 1,236 |
Cash flow
| Metric | FY2025Dec 31, 2025 | FY2024Dec 31, 2024 | FY2023Dec 31, 2023 | FY2022Dec 31, 2022 | FY2021Dec 31, 2021 | FY2020Dec 31, 2020 | FY2019Dec 31, 2019 | FY2018Dec 31, 2018 | FY2017Dec 31, 2017 | FY2016Dec 31, 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating cash flow | 19,796 | 20,124 | 19,965 | 28,314 | 16,996 | 4,802 | 11,104 | 12,934 | 7,077 | 4,403 |
| Depreciation & amortization | 11,500 | 9,599 | 8,270 | 7,504 | 7,208 | 5,521 | 6,090 | 5,956 | 6,845 | 9,062 |
| Stock-based compensation | 336 | 268 | 334 | 377 | 304 | 159 | 274 | 265 | 227 | 272 |
| Share repurchases | 5,018 | 5,463 | 5,400 | 9,270 | 3,623 | 892 | 3,500 | 2,999 | 3,000 | 126 |
| Dividends paid | 3,995 | 3,646 | 5,583 | 5,726 | 2,359 | 1,831 | 1,500 | 1,363 | 1,305 | 1,253 |
| Dividends per share | 3.18 | 2.52 | 2.11 | 1.89 | 1.75 | 1.69 | 1.34 | — | 1.06 | 1.00 |
Key financials (annual, 10-K)
Values as reported in each fiscal year's Form 10-K (XBRL data on SEC EDGAR); growth and ratios are computed from those values. Revenue is the total revenue figure the company tagged (omitted when the only figure tagged is evidently partial, e.g. below net income); growth is only shown between consecutive ~12-month fiscal years reported with the same revenue measure. Per-share figures and share counts are as reported and not adjusted for later stock splits. — = not reported.
Filing timeline
- 8-KCurrent report· Aug 6, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
- 5.02Officer or director changes
- 9.01Financial statements and exhibits
- 10-QQuarterly report· Jun 30, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
- 8-KCurrent report· Aug 6, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
- 2.02Results of operations
- 9.01Financial statements and exhibits
- 8-KCurrent report· Jun 23, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
- 5.02Officer or director changes
- 8-KCurrent report· May 12, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
- 5.07Shareholder vote results
- 10-QQuarterly report· Mar 31, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
- 8-KCurrent report· Apr 30, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
- 2.02Results of operations
- 9.01Financial statements and exhibits
- DEF 14AProxy statement· May 12, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
- 10-KAnnual report· Dec 31, 2025(SEC EDGAR)
- 8-KCurrent report· Feb 5, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
- 2.02Results of operations
- 9.01Financial statements and exhibits
Peers (same SIC code)
| Ticker | Revenue (FY) | YoY | Net margin | ROE | F-Score | 5y revenue |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CVXCHEVRON CORP | $189B | — | 6.5% | — | — | — |
| MPCMarathon Petroleum Corp | $133B | down 4.44% | 3.0% | 23.1% | 8/9 | |
| COPCONOCOPHILLIPS (This company) | $58.9B | up 7.67% | 13.6% | 12.4% | 5/9 | |
| XOMExxonMobil Holdings Corp | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| BPBP PLC | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Peer median | $161B | down 4.44% | 4.8% | 23.1% | 8/9 | — |
Companies with the same 4-digit SIC code, ordered by latest revenue. The median excludes this company. — = not reported or not computable.
Frequently asked questions
What does CONOCOPHILLIPS do?
The SEC classifies CONOCOPHILLIPS under Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code 2911, "Petroleum Refining". It is headquartered in Houston, TX. It is incorporated in DE. In fiscal 2025 it reported revenue of $58.94B and net income of $7.99B in its annual 10-K report.
What was CONOCOPHILLIPS's revenue in 2025?
CONOCOPHILLIPS reported revenue of $58.94B for fiscal 2025, which ended Dec 31, 2025, up 7.7% from $54.75B in fiscal 2024, according to its annual 10-K report filed with the SEC on Feb 17, 2026.
What was CONOCOPHILLIPS's net income in 2025?
CONOCOPHILLIPS reported net income of $7.99B for fiscal 2025, a net margin of 13.6% of revenue.
Where is CONOCOPHILLIPS listed?
According to the SEC, CONOCOPHILLIPS's ticker COP is listed on NYSE.
When does CONOCOPHILLIPS's fiscal year end?
According to the SEC, CONOCOPHILLIPS's fiscal year ends on December 31; its latest reported fiscal year (2025) ended Dec 31, 2025.
Source: SEC EDGAR · Last updated:
Ver en españolNot investment advice: This page shows financial data that companies reported to the US Securities and Exchange Commission, for information only. It is not investment advice or a recommendation to buy or sell any security, and it shows no stock prices. Data may be incomplete, restated or out of date — check the original filings on SEC EDGAR before making decisions.