DUK Duke Energy CORP
NYSEUtilitiesElectric & Other Services CombinedCharlotte, NCFY ends December 31
FY2025 at a glance
Fundamentals from SEC filings, not quotes- Revenue
- $31.7BYoYup 5.63%ended Dec 31, 2025
- Net income
- $4.97B15.7% margin
- Diluted EPS
- $6.31YoYup 10.51%
- Free cash flow
- -$1.69B-5.3% margin
- Cash
- $245MNet debt $89.6B
- Total debt
- $89.8BD/E 1.73×
Overview
Duke Energy CORP (DUK) is listed on NYSE; the SEC classifies it under "Electric & Other Services Combined".
For fiscal 2025 (ended Dec 31, 2025) it reported revenue of $31.74B, up 5.6% from fiscal 2024.
Net income was $4.97B, a net margin of 15.7%.
At fiscal year end it had total assets of $195.74B and stockholders' equity of $51.84B (26.5% of assets).
- Fiscal years shown
- FY2016–FY2025 (10 years)
- Latest 10-K
- Feb 26, 2026
- Latest filing
- 8-KSep 25, 2026
Charts
Revenue and net income
| Period | Revenue | Net income | Net margin |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2016 | $22.7B | $2.15B | 9.5% |
| FY2017 | — | $3.06B | — |
| FY2018 | $23.8B | $2.67B | 11.2% |
| FY2019 | $24.3B | $3.75B | 15.4% |
| FY2020 | $23.5B | $1.38B | 5.9% |
| FY2021 | $24.7B | $3.91B | 15.8% |
| FY2022 | $28.7B | $2.55B | 8.9% |
| FY2023 | $28.7B | $2.84B | 9.9% |
| FY2024 | $30.1B | $4.52B | 15.1% |
| FY2025 | $31.7B | $4.97B | 15.7% |
Gross, operating and net margin
| Period | Gross margin | Operating margin | Net margin |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2016 | — | 23.5% | 9.5% |
| FY2017 | — | — | — |
| FY2018 | 71.2% | 19.7% | 11.2% |
| FY2019 | 72.0% | 23.4% | 15.4% |
| FY2020 | — | 19.4% | 5.9% |
| FY2021 | — | 21.8% | 15.8% |
| FY2022 | — | 21.0% | 8.9% |
| FY2023 | — | 24.7% | 9.9% |
| FY2024 | — | 26.4% | 15.1% |
| FY2025 | — | 27.2% | 15.7% |
Diluted EPS
| Period | EPS (diluted) |
|---|---|
| FY2016 | $3.11 |
| FY2017 | $4.36 |
| FY2018 | $3.76 |
| FY2019 | — |
| FY2020 | — |
| FY2021 | $4.94 |
| FY2022 | $3.17 |
| FY2023 | $3.54 |
| FY2024 | $5.71 |
| FY2025 | $6.31 |
Free cash flow vs net income
| Period | Free cash flow | Net income |
|---|---|---|
| FY2016 | -$1.1B | $2.15B |
| FY2017 | -$1.42B | $3.06B |
| FY2018 | -$2.2B | $2.67B |
| FY2019 | -$2.91B | $3.75B |
| FY2020 | -$1.05B | $1.38B |
| FY2021 | -$1.43B | $3.91B |
| FY2022 | -$5.44B | $2.55B |
| FY2023 | -$2.73B | $2.84B |
| FY2024 | $48M | $4.52B |
| FY2025 | -$1.69B | $4.97B |
Diluted shares
| Period | Diluted shares (weighted) |
|---|---|
| FY2016 | 691M |
| FY2017 | 700M |
| FY2018 | 708M |
| FY2019 | — |
| FY2020 | 738M |
| FY2021 | 769M |
| FY2022 | 770M |
| FY2023 | 771M |
| FY2024 | 772M |
| FY2025 | 777M |
Cash vs total debt
| Period | Cash & equivalents | Total debt |
|---|---|---|
| FY2016 | $392M | $50.4B |
| FY2017 | $358M | $54.4B |
| FY2018 | $442M | $57.9B |
| FY2019 | $311M | $61.3B |
| FY2020 | $259M | $62.7B |
| FY2021 | $343M | $67.1B |
| FY2022 | $409M | $75.2B |
| FY2023 | $253M | $79.5B |
| FY2024 | $314M | $84.3B |
| FY2025 | $245M | $89.8B |
Each bar is one fiscal year as reported in its 10-K; bars below the zero line are negative and gaps are years not reported. Per-share figures are as reported, not adjusted for stock splits; comparisons across a likely split are left blank.
Ratios
Profitability
- Operating margin
- 27.2%
- Net margin
- 15.7%
- FCF margin
- -5.3%
- Return on equity
- 9.7%
- Return on assets
- 2.6%
Growth
| Metric | 1y | 3y CAGR | 5y CAGR | 9y CAGR |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | up 5.63% | up 3.44% | up 6.21% | — |
| EPS (diluted) | up 10.51% | up 25.79% | — | up 8.18% |
| Free cash flow | down 3,629.17% | — | — | — |
- Change in share count
- +0.65%
Financial strength
- Current ratio
- 0.55×
- Debt / equity
- 1.73×
- Net debt
- $89.6B
- Interest coverage
- 2.37×
- Equity / assets
- 26.5%
Shareholder returns
- Dividends per share
- $4.22
- Dividends paid
- —
- Payout ratio
- —
- Stock comp. / revenue
- 0.3%
Quality screens
Piotroski F-Score
6 of 8 checks passed
FY2025 vs FY2024
Partial: 8 of 9 checks could be computed.
- PassPositive return on assets2.7%
- PassPositive operating cash flow$12.3B
- PassReturn on assets improved2.7% vs 2.6%
- PassOperating cash flow above net income6.6% vs 2.7%
- PassLong-term debt / assets fell40.9% vs 41.0%
- FailCurrent ratio improved0.55× vs 0.67×
- FailNo increase in share count777M vs 772M
- —Not computableGross margin improved—
- PassAsset turnover improved0.17× vs 0.17×
Altman Z''-Score
Needs current assets and liabilities, retained earnings, operating income, total assets, liabilities and equity from the latest 10-K.
Screening heuristic, not a recommendation. Per-share figures are as reported, not adjusted for stock splits; comparisons across a likely split are left blank.
Financial statements
USD millions, except per-share figures (USD). Share counts in millions.
Income statement
| Metric | FY2025Dec 31, 2025 | FY2024Dec 31, 2024 | FY2023Dec 31, 2023 | FY2022Dec 31, 2022 | FY2021Dec 31, 2021 | FY2020Dec 31, 2020 | FY2019Dec 31, 2019 | FY2018Dec 31, 2018 | FY2017Dec 31, 2017 | FY2016Dec 31, 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | 31,741 | 30,050 | 28,674 | 28,675 | 24,703 | 23,480 | 24,348 | 23,757 | — | 22,743 |
| YoY (Revenue) | +5.63% | +4.80% | -0.00% | +16.08% | +5.21% | -3.56% | +2.49% | — | — | — |
| Gross profit | — | — | — | — | — | — | 17,522 | 16,926 | — | — |
| Operating income | 8,626 | 7,926 | 7,070 | 6,012 | 5,373 | 4,553 | 5,709 | 4,685 | 5,781 | 5,341 |
| Interest expense | 3,634 | 3,384 | 3,014 | 2,439 | 2,280 | 2,162 | 2,204 | 2,094 | 1,986 | 1,916 |
| Pretax income | 5,712 | 5,194 | 4,767 | 4,078 | 3,764 | 839 | 4,097 | 3,073 | 4,266 | 3,734 |
| Income tax | 642 | 590 | 438 | 300 | 192 | -236 | 519 | 448 | 1,196 | 1,156 |
| Net income | 4,968 | 4,524 | 2,841 | 2,550 | 3,908 | 1,377 | 3,748 | 2,666 | 3,059 | 2,152 |
| YoY (Net income) | +9.81% | +59.24% | +11.41% | -34.75% | +183.81% | -63.26% | +40.59% | -12.85% | +42.15% | — |
| EPS (basic) | 6.31 | 5.71 | 3.54 | 3.17 | 4.94 | — | — | 3.76 | 4.36 | 3.11 |
| EPS (diluted) | 6.31 | 5.71 | 3.54 | 3.17 | 4.94 | — | — | 3.76 | 4.36 | 3.11 |
| YoY (EPS (diluted)) | +10.51% | +61.30% | +11.67% | -35.83% | — | — | — | -13.76% | +40.19% | — |
| Diluted shares (weighted) | 777 | 772 | 771 | 770 | 769 | 738 | — | 708 | 700 | 691 |
Balance sheet
| Metric | FY2025Dec 31, 2025 | FY2024Dec 31, 2024 | FY2023Dec 31, 2023 | FY2022Dec 31, 2022 | FY2021Dec 31, 2021 | FY2020Dec 31, 2020 | FY2019Dec 31, 2019 | FY2018Dec 31, 2018 | FY2017Dec 31, 2017 | FY2016Dec 31, 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cash & equivalents | 245 | 314 | 253 | 409 | 343 | 259 | 311 | 442 | 358 | 392 |
| Receivables | 16 | 1,889 | 3,019 | 3,106 | 2,437 | 2,144 | 1,994 | 2,172 | 1,995 | — |
| Current assets | 11,613 | 12,950 | 12,769 | 13,222 | 9,940 | 8,682 | 9,163 | 9,714 | 8,453 | 8,039 |
| Goodwill | 19,010 | 19,303 | 19,303 | 19,303 | 19,303 | 19,303 | 19,303 | 19,303 | 19,396 | 19,425 |
| Total assets | 195,736 | 186,343 | 176,893 | 178,086 | 169,587 | 162,388 | 158,838 | 145,392 | 137,914 | 132,761 |
| Current liabilities | 21,047 | 19,357 | 17,283 | 18,873 | 15,931 | 16,305 | 14,752 | 15,041 | 12,482 | 11,551 |
| Short-term debt | 9,728 | 7,933 | 7,088 | 8,106 | 6,691 | 7,111 | 6,276 | 6,816 | 5,407 | 4,806 |
| Long-term debt | 80,108 | 76,340 | 72,452 | 67,061 | 60,448 | 55,625 | 54,985 | 51,123 | 49,035 | 45,576 |
| Retained earnings | 5,056 | 3,431 | 2,235 | 2,637 | 3,265 | 2,471 | 4,108 | 3,113 | 3,013 | 2,384 |
| Stockholders' equity | 51,842 | 50,127 | 49,112 | 49,322 | 49,296 | 47,964 | 46,822 | 43,817 | 41,739 | 41,033 |
| Shares outstanding | 778 | 776 | 771 | 770 | 769 | 769 | 733 | 727 | 700 | 700 |
Cash flow
| Metric | FY2025Dec 31, 2025 | FY2024Dec 31, 2024 | FY2023Dec 31, 2023 | FY2022Dec 31, 2022 | FY2021Dec 31, 2021 | FY2020Dec 31, 2020 | FY2019Dec 31, 2019 | FY2018Dec 31, 2018 | FY2017Dec 31, 2017 | FY2016Dec 31, 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating cash flow | 12,330 | 12,328 | 9,878 | 5,927 | 8,290 | 8,856 | 8,209 | 7,186 | 6,634 | 6,798 |
| Capital expenditures | 14,024 | 12,280 | 12,604 | 11,367 | 9,715 | 9,907 | 11,122 | 9,389 | 8,052 | 7,901 |
| Free cash flow | -1,694 | 48 | -2,726 | -5,440 | -1,425 | -1,051 | -2,913 | -2,203 | -1,418 | -1,103 |
| YoY (Free cash flow) | -3,629.17% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Depreciation & amortization | 7,704 | 6,419 | 6,084 | 5,843 | 5,663 | 5,486 | 5,176 | 4,696 | 4,046 | 3,880 |
| Stock-based compensation | 102 | 96 | 97 | 100 | 88 | 84 | 89 | 78 | 68 | 55 |
| Dividends paid | — | — | — | 3,179 | 3,114 | 2,812 | 2,668 | 2,471 | 2,450 | 2,332 |
| Dividends per share | 4.22 | 4.14 | 4.06 | 3.98 | 3.90 | 3.82 | 3.75 | 3.64 | 3.49 | — |
Key financials (annual, 10-K)
Values as reported in each fiscal year's Form 10-K (XBRL data on SEC EDGAR); growth and ratios are computed from those values. Revenue is the total revenue figure the company tagged (omitted when the only figure tagged is evidently partial, e.g. below net income); growth is only shown between consecutive ~12-month fiscal years reported with the same revenue measure. Per-share figures and share counts are as reported and not adjusted for later stock splits. — = not reported.
Filing timeline
- 8-KCurrent report· Sep 24, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
- 5.02Officer or director changes
- 8.01Other events
- 9.01Financial statements and exhibits
- 8-KCurrent report· Aug 10, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
- 8.01Other events
- 9.01Financial statements and exhibits
- 8-KCurrent report· Aug 5, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
- 7.01Regulation FD disclosure
- 9.01Financial statements and exhibits
- 10-QQuarterly report· Jun 30, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
- 8-KCurrent report· Aug 4, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
- 2.02Results of operations
- 9.01Financial statements and exhibits
- 8-KCurrent report· Jul 17, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
- 7.01Regulation FD disclosure
- 9.01Financial statements and exhibits
- 8-KCurrent report· Jul 2, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
- 7.01Regulation FD disclosure
- 9.01Financial statements and exhibits
- 8-KCurrent report· May 7, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
- 5.07Shareholder vote results
- 9.01Financial statements and exhibits
- 10-QQuarterly report· Mar 31, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
- 8-KCurrent report· May 5, 2026(SEC EDGAR)
- 2.02Results of operations
- 9.01Financial statements and exhibits
Frequently asked questions
What does Duke Energy CORP do?
The SEC classifies Duke Energy CORP under Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code 4931, "Electric & Other Services Combined". It is headquartered in Charlotte, NC. It is incorporated in DE. In fiscal 2025 it reported revenue of $31.74B and net income of $4.97B in its annual 10-K report.
What was Duke Energy CORP's revenue in 2025?
Duke Energy CORP reported revenue of $31.74B for fiscal 2025, which ended Dec 31, 2025, up 5.6% from $30.05B in fiscal 2024, according to its annual 10-K report filed with the SEC on Feb 26, 2026.
What was Duke Energy CORP's net income in 2025?
Duke Energy CORP reported net income of $4.97B for fiscal 2025, a net margin of 15.7% of revenue.
Where is Duke Energy CORP listed?
According to the SEC, Duke Energy CORP's ticker DUK is listed on NYSE. The SEC also lists the tickers DUKB, DUK-PA and DUKU for the company.
When does Duke Energy CORP's fiscal year end?
According to the SEC, Duke Energy CORP's fiscal year ends on December 31; its latest reported fiscal year (2025) ended Dec 31, 2025.
Source: SEC EDGAR · Last updated:
Ver en españolNot investment advice: This page shows financial data that companies reported to the US Securities and Exchange Commission, for information only. It is not investment advice or a recommendation to buy or sell any security, and it shows no stock prices. Data may be incomplete, restated or out of date — check the original filings on SEC EDGAR before making decisions.