Skip to content
Loading your account…

AXP AMERICAN EXPRESS CO

NYSEFinancialsFinance ServicesNew York, NYFY ends December 31

New 8-K: Filed an 8-K current report in the last 7 days.Profitable 5/5: Fiscal years with net income above zero, out of the last five reported.FY2025 10-K filed Feb 6, 2026

FY2025 at a glance

Fundamentals from SEC filings, not quotes
Revenue
$72.2BYoYup 9.52%ended Dec 31, 2025
Net income
$10.8B15.0% margin
Diluted EPS
$15.38YoYup 9.78%
Free cash flow
—
Cash
—
Total debt
—Not meaningful for financial companies
About AMERICAN EXPRESS CO

Overview

AMERICAN EXPRESS CO (AXP) is listed on NYSE; the SEC classifies it under "Finance Services".

For fiscal 2025 (ended Dec 31, 2025) it reported revenue of $72.23B, up 9.5% from fiscal 2024.

Net income was $10.83B, a net margin of 15.0%.

At fiscal year end it had total assets of $300.05B and stockholders' equity of $33.47B (11.2% of assets).

Financial company (SIC 6000–6799): gross margin, current ratio, debt figures, interest coverage, the F-Score and Z'' are not meaningful for bank and insurer balance sheets, so they are left blank.

Fiscal years shown
FY2021–FY2025 (5 years)
Latest 10-K
Feb 6, 2026
Latest filing
8-KOct 30, 2026
FY2021–FY2025 · annual 10-K

Charts

Revenue and net income

Revenue and net income, fiscal years FY2021 to FY2025.
PeriodRevenueNet incomeNet margin
FY2021$42.4B$8.06B19.0%
FY2022$52.9B$7.51B14.2%
FY2023$60.5B$8.37B13.8%
FY2024$65.9B$10.1B15.4%
FY2025$72.2B$10.8B15.0%

Diluted EPS

Diluted EPS, fiscal years FY2021 to FY2025.
PeriodEPS (diluted)
FY2021$10.02
FY2022$9.85
FY2023$11.21
FY2024$14.01
FY2025$15.38

Shares outstanding

Shares outstanding, fiscal years FY2021 to FY2025.
PeriodShares outstanding
FY2021761M
FY2022743M
FY2023723M
FY2024702M
FY2025686M

Each bar is one fiscal year as reported in its 10-K; bars below the zero line are negative and gaps are years not reported. Per-share figures are as reported, not adjusted for stock splits; comparisons across a likely split are left blank.

FY2025 · 5-year trend

Ratios

Profitability

Gross marginNot meaningful for financial companies
—
Net margin
15.0%
Return on equity
34.0%
Return on assets
3.8%

Growth

Growth. Compound annual growth: (end ÷ start)^(1 ÷ years) − 1, both ends positive.
Metric1y3y CAGR
Revenueup 9.52%up 10.97%
EPS (diluted)up 9.78%up 16.01%
Free cash flow——
Change in share count
-2.28%

Financial strength

Current ratioNot meaningful for financial companies
—
Debt / equityNot meaningful for financial companies
—
Liabilities / assets
88.8%
Net debtNot meaningful for financial companies
—
Interest coverageNot meaningful for financial companies
—
Equity / assets
11.2%

Shareholder returns

Not reported in this company's 10-K data yet.

Financial company (SIC 6000–6799): gross margin, current ratio, debt figures, interest coverage, the F-Score and Z'' are not meaningful for bank and insurer balance sheets, so they are left blank.

Piotroski F-Score · Altman Z''-Score

Quality screens

Piotroski F-Score

Not meaningful for financial companies.

Altman Z''-Score

Not meaningful for financial companies.

Screening heuristic, not a recommendation. Financial company (SIC 6000–6799): gross margin, current ratio, debt figures, interest coverage, the F-Score and Z'' are not meaningful for bank and insurer balance sheets, so they are left blank.

Last 5 fiscal years · newest first

Financial statements

USD millions, except per-share figures (USD). Share counts in millions.

Income statement

Income statement. USD millions, except per-share figures (USD). Share counts in millions.
MetricFY2025Dec 31, 2025FY2024Dec 31, 2024FY2023Dec 31, 2023FY2022Dec 31, 2022FY2021Dec 31, 2021
Revenue72,22965,94960,51552,86242,380
YoY (Revenue)+9.52%+8.98%+14.48%+24.73%—
Net income10,83310,1298,3747,5148,060
YoY (Net income)+6.95%+20.96%+11.45%-6.77%—
EPS (diluted)15.3814.0111.219.8510.02
YoY (EPS (diluted))+9.78%+24.98%+13.81%-1.70%—

Balance sheet

Balance sheet. USD millions, except per-share figures (USD). Share counts in millions.
MetricFY2025Dec 31, 2025FY2024Dec 31, 2024FY2023Dec 31, 2023FY2022Dec 31, 2022FY2021Dec 31, 2021
Total assets300,052271,461261,108228,354188,548
Total liabilities266,578241,197233,051203,643166,371
Stockholders' equity33,47430,26428,05724,71122,177
Shares outstanding686702723743761
Key financials (annual, 10-K)

Values as reported in each fiscal year's Form 10-K (XBRL data on SEC EDGAR); growth and ratios are computed from those values. Revenue is the total revenue figure the company tagged (omitted when the only figure tagged is evidently partial, e.g. below net income); growth is only shown between consecutive ~12-month fiscal years reported with the same revenue measure. Per-share figures and share counts are as reported and not adjusted for later stock splits. — = not reported.

FY2025 · per diluted weighted share

Per share and valuation context

EPS (diluted)
$15.38
Revenue per share
$105.29
Book value per share
$48.80
Tangible book per share
$48.80

Price ratios need a live quote. This page shows no stock prices. Per-share figures are as reported, not adjusted for stock splits; comparisons across a likely split are left blank.

Price ratio calculator

Type a share price to compute ratios from the latest 10-K figures. Nothing is stored or sent. (FY2025)

Market capPrice × diluted weighted shares
—
P/EPrice ÷ diluted EPS
—
P/BPrice ÷ book value per share
—
P/SPrice ÷ revenue per share
—
P/FCFPrice ÷ FCF per share
—
Dividend yieldDividends per share ÷ price
—
SEC EDGAR

Filing timeline

Frequently asked questions

What does AMERICAN EXPRESS CO do?

The SEC classifies AMERICAN EXPRESS CO under Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code 6199, "Finance Services". It is headquartered in New York, NY. It is incorporated in NY. In fiscal 2025 it reported revenue of $72.23B and net income of $10.83B in its annual 10-K report.

What was AMERICAN EXPRESS CO's revenue in 2025?

AMERICAN EXPRESS CO reported revenue of $72.23B for fiscal 2025, which ended Dec 31, 2025, up 9.5% from $65.95B in fiscal 2024, according to its annual 10-K report filed with the SEC on Feb 6, 2026.

What was AMERICAN EXPRESS CO's net income in 2025?

AMERICAN EXPRESS CO reported net income of $10.83B for fiscal 2025, a net margin of 15.0% of revenue.

Where is AMERICAN EXPRESS CO listed?

According to the SEC, AMERICAN EXPRESS CO's ticker AXP is listed on NYSE.

When does AMERICAN EXPRESS CO's fiscal year end?

According to the SEC, AMERICAN EXPRESS CO's fiscal year ends on December 31; its latest reported fiscal year (2025) ended Dec 31, 2025.

Source: SEC EDGAR · Last updated:

Ver en español

Not investment advice: This page shows financial data that companies reported to the US Securities and Exchange Commission, for information only. It is not investment advice or a recommendation to buy or sell any security, and it shows no stock prices. Data may be incomplete, restated or out of date — check the original filings on SEC EDGAR before making decisions.